What is MY purpose in life?

Standard

Have you ever asked yourself this question – “What is my purpose in life?” I know I have asked it more than once at different times in my life. Why did God create me and what is my purpose here in life?

As I began to pray about a title for this blog, the word “purpose” came to my mind. I personally believe that Jesus Christ has us here on Earth for a specific purpose. We are the ones who must figure it out by seeking our Heavenly Father. We must learn why HE created each one of us.

I remember being younger and wondering why God created me as a female when I had an older brother and all boy cousins. I didn’t have any girl cousins (or sisters) around me. I remember a specific instance where I said it to my grandmother, and she said so I could be a mommy someday. She named off several other reasons, too. In my young child mind, I didn’t understand, but she knew there was a reason and purpose for my future because God created me. Likewise, God has made each of us unique and has a plan for each one of us. He has made us just the way we are, in the exact family we are in, and exactly right where we are at this very moment. Sometimes we end up somewhere in life that may not have been His will but it’s what we do with our lives once we realize this. We must find His purpose and do His will. I believe the people who are around us and who we come in contact with are for a specific purpose.

Esther Chapter 4 states,
12 When Esther’s words were reported to Mordecai, 13 he sent back this answer: “Do not think that because you are in the king’s house you alone of all the Jews will escape. 14 For if you remain silent at this time, relief and deliverance for the Jews will arise from another place, but you and your father’s family will perish. And who knows but that you have come to your royal position for such a time as this?”

Just like Esther in the Bible, she was created and purposed for “Such a time as this.” If you read this story, you realize that her cousin tells her if she doesn’t deliver her people than God will use someone else to deliver her people and she and her family will die. I don’t know about you, but if God has a specific purpose for my life, I want Him to use me and not someone else to accomplish MY purpose. We must seek His purpose.

This blog has been entitled “A Purposeful Journey” for this reason. I believe God has allowed my purpose at this moment in time to be part of this blog. I also like to think of life as a journey. I will share pieces of my life that has been my purpose here on earth with others. I may share events that have occurred in my lifetime, and I may share spiritual thoughts that The Lord has spoken to me. Please note this is to bring ALL Glory to Jesus Christ. I just want to be a vessel used by Him. Everything that has occurred in my life’s journey so far needs to be a testimony of God.

Working with teens, they are trying to find their purpose in life and what they are suppose to do when they graduate. They think of colleges, careers, spouses, etc. the list can go on and on. These are all things they need to be thinking about for their future. Those who have no idea, we like to tell them to begin praying about their purpose. #1 – if you are a Christian, your first priority and purpose in life should be to tell and show others about Christ’s love. Secondly, seek God’s plan for your life. Realize that whatever your goals and dreams may be, God has created you that way to fulfill His purpose for your life. (I can now look back at what my grandmother said. I absolutely know God created me to be a Mommy to two precious children.) Seek after those goals and dreams. As opportunities begin to open up, step into those “open doors.” God will guide you. Seek opportunities to share Christ with those around you. God has a purpose for your life. You must be prayerful and open your heart to those doors of opportunities. We only have one life and one chance.

Remember: you are created “for such a time as this.”

Leave a Reply

