Heart Friends

Standard

I want to introduce my blog friends to a dear “heart” friend of mine. I was born with a heart condition called Tetralogy of Fallot with pulmonary atresia. This friend was also born with Tetralogy of Fallot. I can share my miracle another day, but I want to share with you today about my friend, Sunni. You see, we met several years ago at church camp (unbeknownst to us, our moms had known each other for years). I saw her “lifeline” (open heart surgery scar) that began a conversation that lasted for hours. We talked all about our congenital heart conditions and our upbringing. In this conversation we realized we had both had about the same amount of surgeries and born with almost the exact condition. At this time, I believe we were both in high school/college.

Up to meeting her, I had never known someone near my age with a heart condition. We shard the things we could and couldn’t do growing up. It was crazy how some things she was able to experience and then I couldn’t and vise versa for her. By this time, I had recently had my third open heart surgery. Her recent one had been several years prior to that.

Following camp, we became friends on Facebook and now both of our husbands are youth pastors. What is different? I’m going almost 13 years with my pulmonary valve and she is going about 16 years with hers. However, it is time for her to have surgery again. More specific, she’ll be having it today. She has been needing it over this past year and has been denied over 4 times by her insurance company. Friends and family have rallied around her with finances and prayers. The total bill originally given was $30,000. It will more than likely be much more than that. I’ve seen a miracle occur in the past couple of months. The hospital told her if she could put a certain amount down as a down payment, she could have the surgery and give the rest in payments. She was able to have enough donated to do just that!
The awesomeness of this heart surgery is it won’t be open-heart! It’s a newer procedure done like a heart cath where they put in the new valve. I think this is awesome! No more open heart for this surgery!

Sunni needs this surgery to give her strength. I saw her the other day and she was very tired and exhausted. I can’t wait to hear about this surgery and her amazing energy she is going to receive! However, with all of this said, she will still have expenses. My family knows all too well about years of payments. Please pray for Sunni today for an awesome surgery and recovery! She needs our support by prayers, finances, and sharing her story. If you would like to give, you may go to this link https://www.booster.com/amelodyforamelody?share=8761396470163625 to buy a t-shirt or you may go to this link https://www.giveforward.com/fundraiser/xn44/a-melody-for-a-melody to give a donation.

Philippians 4:13-14

I can do all this through him who gives me strength. Yet it was good of you to share in my troubles.

Praying for you Sunni!!!

20140414-081212.jpg

Leave a Reply

