A Mother’s Day Tribute

Standard

As a child my mom helped me fix my hair, choose my clothes, made sure everything went as it was supposed to for me. As I got older, she became more of a friend. In my pre-teen years she was beside me and all of my drama during two academic pageants that were life experiences. We had an entire weekend together. I would change from one outfit to another and go from place to place. She made sure I was where I was to be at each event. Not only did I make wonderful memories during those pageants, but I spent quality time with my mother I that will cherish forever. During those years, she taught me about relationships and waiting to date the right person. She was my missionettes teacher at church, and she had my friends and I make a list of what we wanted in a future spouse. Even during my “boy crazy” years she helped me keep my head on straight. She had me look for a godly person and to set my standards high. (I will be forever grateful for this.)
As I became a teen, we began a friendship like none other. I went to her for everything especially godly advice for myself and even for my friends. She was my “cheerleader” during the three years of cheerleading tryouts and ball games. There were so many frustrating moments of “my hair isn’t right”, “my clothes aren’t just so,” and she endured all those moments with me.
She was with me when my cardiologist said it was time for another heart surgery at the age of 17. She cried with me and comforted me that evening and the days ahead. Then, she took care of me with a mother’s love during all of my recovery time. A mother’s intuition is not to be taken lightly. The night after my surgery, my breathing began to go down to 5 breaths a minute. She stayed beside me realizing something wasn’t right. She continued to question the hospital staff until something was done. I’m blessed that she was right beside me through it all and I’ll never forget her being there.
She continued to be one of my closest friends through college and my wedding. I’m so thankful for the time she spent in preparation for my special day. She made it Perfect.
Since then she has been with me through the birth of my two kids. She is the greatest Nana to those two! They love her to the moon and back!

Now that I am older and a mother myself, I truly see so much more. I know that a mother’s love is selfless. My mom has always made sure we had everything my brother and I needed and pretty much anything we wanted (without us being spoiled brats). My mother will give her help in any way she can to others – strangers or friends. She loves her husband, kids, and grand kids more than anything. I pray to be just like my mother whom I believe is a Proverbs 31 Woman.
Today, honor your mother whether she is still here today or if she has passed away. Find a way to honor her or do something in her honor.
To my longest best friend, Happy Mother’s Day!!!
I love you MOM!!!

Proverbs 31: 10-31

10 [b]A wife of noble character who can find?
She is worth far more than rubies.
11 Her husband has full confidence in her
and lacks nothing of value.
12 She brings him good, not harm,
all the days of her life.
13 She selects wool and flax
and works with eager hands.
14 She is like the merchant ships,
bringing her food from afar.
15 She gets up while it is still night;
she provides food for her family
and portions for her female servants.
16 She considers a field and buys it;
out of her earnings she plants a vineyard.
17 She sets about her work vigorously;
her arms are strong for her tasks.
18 She sees that her trading is profitable,
and her lamp does not go out at night.
19 In her hand she holds the distaff
and grasps the spindle with her fingers.
20 She opens her arms to the poor
and extends her hands to the needy.
21 When it snows, she has no fear for her household;
for all of them are clothed in scarlet.
22 She makes coverings for her bed;
she is clothed in fine linen and purple.
23 Her husband is respected at the city gate,
where he takes his seat among the elders of the land.
24 She makes linen garments and sells them,
and supplies the merchants with sashes.
25 She is clothed with strength and dignity;
she can laugh at the days to come.
26 She speaks with wisdom,
and faithful instruction is on her tongue.
27 She watches over the affairs of her household
and does not eat the bread of idleness.
28 Her children arise and call her blessed;
her husband also, and he praises her:
29 “Many women do noble things,
but you surpass them all.”
30 Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting;
but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.
31 Honor her for all that her hands have done,
and let her works bring her praise at the city gate.

20140511-122841.jpg

Leave a Reply

